Amaranth Breakfast Porridge

11 Nov

20121105-210418.jpg

I am someone who likes hot breakfast in the morning. I am also someone who doesn’t like to get out of bed any earlier than absolutely necessary and hates to cook in the mornings. Luckily, my partner is more of a morning person and agreeable to whipping something up as long as it doesn’t take much extra time. We usually make oatmeal in the morning, but oats are not as good as other grains for people struggling with candida, and let’s be honest, for everyone they can get old real fast. This recipe is just as simple as making oatmeal, although it does require more unattended cooking time (15-20 minutes).

I have written before about amaranth, a grain I love because of its nutty taste, crunchy sticky texture, and an excellent source of protein, lysine, and dietary minerals. Amaranth lends itself well to either savory or sweet preparations. It is irresistible in this recipe with a strong serving of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, some caramelized coconut sugar, and a dash of coconut milk and pecans. Pudding for breakfast without any unnecessary blood sugar hikes and hearty enough to keep you satisfied till lunch!

For those of you interested in the candida diet, I am happy to report I have successfully completed one week of stage 1 of the candida cleanse. While I was very happy to re-introduce grains into my diet, with some advance planning and smart shopping I didn’t find the cleanse as painful as I thought it would be. In this week I was feeling many of the symptoms of candida die-off (headache, fatigue, cold fingers and toes) which is a sign that something is happening. The two main positive changes I noticed were a notable improvement in my digestion, along with a sudden absence of sugar or carb cravings! Will continue to update as I try to sustain my momentum in stage 2, wish me luck, it’s not the best timing with the holidays approaching.

 

serves 2

1 cup amaranth
2 cups water
pinch of salt
cinnamon
nutmeg
allspice
cloves
ginger
pecans
sunflower seeds
coconut milk

Place amaranth and water in a pot. Bring to a boil and then let simmer covered 15 minutes. Stir, add spices and more water as necessary. Cook another 5 minutes. Top with coconut milk, nuts, and shredded coconut.

20121105-210425.jpg

Leave a Reply

